Selection Committee

Winners of the The Brain Prize are chosen from the pool of nominated candidates by a selection committee consisting of at least 8, and no more than 12 members. In terms of scientific merit, standing and knowledge, the members are outstanding and are highly respected by the international scientific community.

The Selection Committee has members from at least 4 different countries and does not contain more than 2 members from the same country. Nomination of candidates for The Brain Prize by members of the selection committee is not permitted. The Lundbeck Foundation strongly encourages diversity in Selection Committee membership.



Joseph Coyle
Professor, McLean Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA

Geoffrey A. Donnan
Professor, The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Australia

Story Landis – Vice-Chair
Dr., Ph.D., USA

Richard Morris – Chair
Professor, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Ole Petter Ottersen
President, Karolinska Institute,

Philip Scheltens
Professor and Director, the Alzheimer Center, The Netherlands

Irene Tracey
Professor, University of Oxford, John Radcliffe Hospital, United Kingdom

Catherine Dulac
Professor, Harvard University, USA

Mu-ming Poo
Director, Institute of Neuroscience of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

The Brain Prize